Canterbury to compete in Southern Region Sevens tomorrow

The Canterbury Men’s and Women’s Sevens teams will look to earn their spot in the National Sevens when they take part in the Southern Region qualifying tournament tomorrow in Timaru.

The Canterbury Men’s team will play Tasman, Mid-Canterbury, South Canterbury, Otago, North Otago and Southland, with the top five teams qualifying for the Nationals.  The Canterbury Women will play Tasman, South Canterbury and Otago and Southland, with the top three teams making it through to the Nationals.  The Canterbury Women were the top qualifiers out of the Southern region in 2015, while the Men finished the regional tournament in third place.

The National tournament will be held on 14 and 15 January at Rotorua International Stadium.

Canterbury Women’s Sevens Squad:

Sam Curtis

Rebecca Davidson

Sui Peter

Rebecca Todd

Rose Kelly

Kate Day

Grace Brooker

TeRauoriwa Gapper (C)

Dianne Hiini

Taylor Curtis

Islay Fowler

Nicole Purdom

Canterbury Men’s Sevens Squad:

Lawrence Babe (C)

Jesse Houston

Jale Masi

Dan Fransen

Inoke Rasabale

James Tofa

Filimoni Waqainabete

Dylan Nel

Michael Green

Milford Keresoma

Sekove Delaicautata

Willie McGoon